

Media Release

1 July 2024

IPART welcomes new Tribunal members

Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) Chair Carmel Donnelly has announced the appointment of competition and regulatory law expert Ms Sharon Henrick and economist Dr Darryl Biggar as Tribunal members.

"I'm very pleased to welcome both Sharon and Darryl to the Tribunal and look forward to the deep expertise and experience they will each bring to our work as we continue to help the people of NSW get safe and reliable services at a fair price," Ms Donnelly said.

Ms Henrick brings more than 25 years' experience in complex regulatory investigations, and enforcement and compliance matters across all sectors of the Australian economy, including electricity, gas and renewables. She has been appointed as a permanent Tribunal member for a three-year term.

"In my experience, results-based outcomes cannot be achieved without carefully and proactively balancing the current and future interests of consumers, suppliers, governments, and other stakeholders," Ms Henrick said.

A former head of the Competition Law and Regulatory Group with King & Wood Mallesons and a member of the federal government's Competition Policy Review expert advisory panel, Ms Henrick has also spent several years rebuilding her farm near Batlow into a sustainable agribusiness following the 2020 bushfires.

"It has been a massive amount of work but very satisfying and now that the hardest aspects are complete, I am looking forward to continuing to serve the public, especially people from rural and regional NSW, as a Tribunal member," she said.

Dr Biggar joins the Tribunal following thirty years' experience in the Australian federal government, advising the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission and the Australian Energy Regulator, and with international bodies such as the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development. Dr Biggar has been appointed as a temporary Tribunal member for a term of two years.

Dr Biggar said he was honoured to join the Tribunal and looked forward to contributing to IPART's mission of driving more effective, efficient, fair, and sustainable systems and markets to benefit the people of NSW.

"IPART has an excellent reputation for achieving regulatory outcomes for the benefit of the people of NSW. IPART's reviews and decisions are important and have a meaningful impact on the NSW community," he said.

Ms Henrick and Dr Biggar both commence as members of the Tribunal today, 1 July 2024.

Media Contact: Mark O'Brien

0427 105 865

🚩 media@ipart.nsw.gov.au